7 Amazing Facts About Bharat Ratna Awards

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India. Instituted by former President of India Rajendra Prasad on 2nd January, 1954, the award is conferred “in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order”, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex.The award was originally limited to achievements in the arts, literature, science, and public services, but the government expanded the criteria to include “any field of human endeavour” in December 2011. The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. The award does not carry any monetary grant. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President.

  1. The medal looks like a peepul leaf with “Bharat Ratna” written on it in Devanagari script. An image of sun is also printed on it. The back side of the award carries the state emblem and motto.
  2. First Bharat Ratna was awarded to Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, Sir C.V. Raman, and Chakravarti Rajagopalachari in 1954.
  3. Mother Teresa was the first naturalized Indian citizen of Bharat Ratna Award Winner in 1980.
  4. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1987) And Nelson Mandela (1990) are two non Indians of Bharat Ratna Award Winners.
  5. Sachin Tendulkar is the first sportsperson and the youngest Bharat Ratna Award Winner.
  6. Subhash Chandra Bose was awarded with Bharat Ratna posthumously in 1992. But due to controversy (as there is no evidence of Subhash Chandra Bose\’s death) his family refused to accept the award. It is the only incident in the history of Bharat Ratna that an award was withdrawn.
  7. Vallabhbhai Patel is the eldest to receive (after death, at age 116) the award and Gulzarilal Nanda is the eldest alive person to receive (at age 99) the award.

List of Bharat Ratna Award Recipients.

Sr_No  Year  Name Of The Person
1 1954 Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, Chakravarti Rajagopalachari, Dr Chandrashekhar Venkataraman
2 1955 Dr. Bhagwan Das, Dr. Mokshgundm Visveswaraya, Jawaharlal Nehru
3 1957 Govind Vallabh Pant
4 1958 Keshav Karve Rdhodo
5 1961 Dr. BC Roy, Purushottam Das Tandon
6 1962 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
7 1963 Dr. Zakir Hussain, Pandurang Vaman Kane
8 1966 Lal Bahadur Shastri (posthumous)
9 1971 Indira Gandhi
10 1975 V. V. Giri
11 1976 of. Kamaraj (posthumous)
12 1980 Mother Terisa
13 1983 Acharya Vinoba Bhave (posthumous)
14 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (the first overseas)
15 1988 Mkdum Gopalan Ramachandran (posthumous)
16 1990 Dr. BR Ambedkar (posthumously), Nelson Mandela
17 1991 Rajiv Gandhi (posthumous), Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (posthumous), Morarji Desai
18 1992 JRD Tata, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (posthumously), Ray
19 1997 Aruna Asaf Ali (posthumous), Gulzari Lal Nanda (posthumous), APJ Abdul Kalam
20 1998 M / s. Subbulakshmi, c. Subramaniam, JP (posthumous)
21 1999 Pro. Amartya Sen, Pandit Ravi Shankar Gopinath Bardoli (posthumous)
22 2001 Lata Mangeshkar, Ustad Khan Bismilah
23 2009 Bhimsen Joshi
24 2014 Sachin Tendulkar, Dr. CNR Rao
25 2015 Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Madan Mohan Malviya (posthumous)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *